UBC experts on Trump’s inauguration

U.S. President-elect Donald Trump takes office on Jan. 20.

UBC experts are available to comment on a variety of issues related to the Trump administration, including the psychology behind why he won the election, implications for climate and international trade policies, and the possibility of impeachment.

Werner Antweiler
UBC Sauder School of Business
Tel: 604-822-8484
Email: werner.antweiler@ubc.ca

  • International trade and free trade agreements; energy and environmental policy

Maxwell Cameron
Centre for the Study of Democratic Institutions
Department of Political Science
Cell: 604-786-0992
Email: max.cameron@ubc.ca

  • Right-wing populism, crisis of democracy, and authoritarian tendencies

Ayesha Chaudhry
Department of Classical, Near Eastern, and Religious Studies
Email: ayesha.chaudhry@ubc.ca

  • Implications of a Trump presidency for minorities; human rights; Islam

*Only available after Jan. 20

Patrick Condon
School of Architecture and Landscape Architecture
Cell: 604-788-0747
Email: pcondon@sala.ubc.ca

  • Implications of a Trump presidency for climate change and city planning

Kathryn Harrison
Department of Political Science
Cell: 778-968-4923
Email: kathryn.harrison@ubc.ca

  • Implications of a Trump administration for climate and energy policy in the U.S. and Canada

George Hoberg
Liu Institute for Global Issues
Tel: 604-822-3728
Cell: 778-837-1316

Email: george.hoberg@ubc.ca

  • Implications of a Trump administration for energy and environmental policy, including climate policy domestically and internationally, and Keystone XL and oil sands pipelines

Richard Johnston
Department of Political Science
Email: richard.johnston@ubc.ca

  • Government appointments; legislative agenda; conflict of interest; tariffs; social security; Obamacare; Medicare; Republican party; Democratic party; 2018 midterm elections

Peter Klein
UBC Global Reporting Centre
UBC Graduate School of Journalism
Tel: 604-822-5823
Email: peter.klein@ubc.ca

  • Role of social media and fake news; national security and terrorism; xenophobia and Islamophobia

Richard Price
Department of Political Science
Email: richard.price@ubc.ca

  • Issues of global politics, including war, nuclear weapons and torture

Paul Quirk
Department of Political Science
Email: paul.quirk@ubc.ca

  • Impeachment; appointments; legislative agenda; conflict of interest; Republican party; tariffs; social security; Obamacare; Medicare

Dominik Stecula
PhD candidate, Department of Political Science
Cell: 778-918-3950
Email: d.stecula@alumni.ubc.ca

  • Media coverage of Trump; social media; political polarization and public opinion

Jessica Tracy
Department of Psychology
Tel: 604-822-2718
Email: jltracy@psych.ubc.ca

  • The psychology behind why Trump won the election; Trump’s use of hubristic pride in business and politics