UBC experts on drought

UBC experts are available to comment on drought conditions in B.C.

Dr. Younes Alila
Professor, Department of Forest Resources Management
Email: younes.alila@ubc.ca
Interview language(s): English

  • Climate and land use change effects on droughts, floods and landslides
  • Logging and forest practice effects on droughts, floods and landslides

Dr. Werner Antweiler
Associate Professor, Sauder School of Business
Email: werner.antweiler@ubc.ca
Interview language(s): English, German

Dr. Sean Fleming
Adjunct Professor, Department of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences
Email: sfleming@eoas.ubc.ca
Interview language(s): English

  • Water resource science and management
  • Flood and water supply forecasting
  • Climate variability and change
  • Machine learning
  • Snow and glaciers

Dr. Michael Healey
Professor Emeritus, Department of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences
Tel: 250-317-7839
Email: healey@mail.ubc.ca
Interview language(s): English

  • Reduced stream flow and higher water temperature in rivers and lakes, and effects on salmon
  • Increased surface temperature in the ocean, and effects on salmon

Dr. John Janmaat (he/him)
Professor, Department of Economics, Philosophy and Political Science
Email: john.janmaat@ubc.ca
Interview language(s): English

  • Environmental economics
  • Natural resource economics, including water resource economics

Dr. John Richardson
Professor, Department of Forest and Conservation Sciences
Email: john.richardson@ubc.ca
Interview language(s): English

  • Effects of droughts on natural ecosystems
  • Effects of flooding and water supplies on streams and lakes, water quality and debris torrents
  • Urban impacts of drainage patterns and loss of natural stream networks in many parts of the Lower Mainland
  • Ways to conserve water this summer

available all day July 18 and morning of July 19

Dr. Sean Smukler (he/him)
Associate professor, Faculty of Land and Food Systems
Email: sean.smukler@ubc.ca 
Interview language(s): English

  • Effects of droughts on agriculture and farming in B.C.
  • Adapting farming practices in a changing climate
  • Role of agriculture in climate change

Dr. Eric Taylor
Professor, Department of Zoology
Tel: 250-393-2486
Email: etaylor@zoology.ubc.ca
Interview language(s): English

  • Effects of drought on fish

Related link: