UBC experts available to comment on wildfires and heat

The B.C. government has urged people to remain cautious as temperatures are projected to rise into the weekend and the risk of wildfires may increase.

UBC experts are available to comment on heat, wildfires and associated issues.

Wildfires

Jen Baron (she/her)
PhD Candidate, Department of Forest and Conservation Sciences
Email: jenbaron@mail.ubc.ca
Interview language(s): English

  • Wildfire ecology and management, past and present
  • Forest fire behaviour, fire risk and fuel treatments
  • Climate change impacts on wildfires

Dr. Mathieu Bourbonnais
Assistant Professor, Department of Earth, Environmental and Geographic Sciences
Email: Mathieu.Bourbonnais@ubc.ca
Cell: 778-583-0272
Interview language(s): English, written French

  • Wildfire risk and fire suppression and mitigation
  • Firefighting and use of satellites for wildfire detection and monitoring

Dr. Kelsey Copes-Gerbitz (she/her)
Postdoctoral Researcher, Department of Forest and Conservation Sciences
Tel: 604-363-9863
Email: kelsey.copes-gerbitz@ubc.ca
Interview language(s): English

  • Proactive wildfire management, coexisting with wildfires, sharing responsibility for wildfire management
  • Community wildfire resilience
  • Historical fires and wildfire management

Dr. Lori Daniels
Professor, Department of Forest and Conservation Sciences
Email: lori.daniels@ubc.ca
Interview language(s): English

  • Wildfires and wildfire management
  • Forest fires, past and present
  • Impacts of climate change on forests

Dr. Sarah Dickson-Hoyle (she/her)
Postdoctoral Researcher, Department of Forest and Conservation Sciences
Email: sarah.dickson-hoyle@ubc.ca
Interview language(s): English

  • Wildfire recovery
  • Ecological impacts of wildfires
  • Community wildfire resilience and proactive approaches

Dr. Karen Hodges (she/her)
Professor, UBC Okanagan Department of Biology
Tel: 250-807-8763
Email: karen.hodges@ubc.ca
Interview language(s): English

  • Post-fire habitats
  • Wildlife impacts from heat, drought and fire
  • Salvage logging and impacts on wildlife

Dr. Kira Hoffman
Postdoctoral Researcher, Faculty of Forestry
Tel: 250-876-8440
Email: kira.hoffman@bvcentre.ca
Interview language(s): English

  • Fire behaviour, pyrodiversity and prescribed burning

Dr. John Innes
Professor, Faculty of Forestry
Tel: 604-603-5916
Interview language(s): English

  • Climate change and wildfires, boreal forests, forest management

Health impacts

Dr. Michael Brauer
Professor, School of Population and Public Health
Email: michael.brauer@ubc.ca
Interview language(s): English

  • Health effects of extreme heat, approaches to minimize impacts
  • Air quality and health impacts from smoke
  • How to minimize exposure to smoke

Dr. Emily Brigham
Assistant Professor, Department of Medicine
Email: emily.brigham@ubc.ca
Interview language(s): English

  • Lung health, asthma and COPD, pollutant exposures from wildfires, co-exposure with heat

*Unavailable June 1-5

Dr. Christopher Carlsten
Physician; Professor and Head of Respiratory Medicine, Department of Medicine
Tel: 604-839-1561
Email: christopher.carlsten@ubc.ca
Interview language(s): English

  • Adverse health effects related to heat, smoke, ozone and allergens
  • How heat, smoke, ozone and allergens are climate-change related

Dr. Sarah Henderson
Associate Professor, School of Population and Public Health
Tel: 604-910-9144
Email: sarah.henderson@bccdc.ca
Interview language(s): English

  • Health impacts of wildfire smoke and extreme heat and ways to protect health

*unavailable May 25 – June 18

Dr. Michael Schwandt
Clinical Assistant Professor, School of Population and Public Health; Medical Health Officer, Vancouver Coastal Health
Email: michael.schwandt@vch.ca
Interview language(s): English

  • Health impacts of wildfire smoke
  • Community and personal actions for health protection

Dr. Angela Yao
Adjunct Professor, School of Population and Public Health
Email: angela.yao@bccdc.ca
Interview language(s): English, Mandarin, Cantonese

  • Health impacts of wildfire smoke

Heat

Dr. Alison McAfee
Postdoctoral Fellow, Michael Smith Laboratories and North Carolina State University
Tel: 778-995-2151
Email: alison.n.mcafee@gmail.com
Interview language(s): English

  • Honey bee biology and fertility
  • Impact of high temperatures on bee fertility and survival