UBC faculty elected to Canadian Academy of Health Sciences

Six faculty members have been elected Fellows by the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences (CAHS). Fellows are elected to the CAHS based on leadership, creativity, distinctive competencies and a commitment to advance academic health science.

Jan Friedman, professor in the Department of Medical Genetics and Acting Associate Dean, Research, Children & Family Research Institute, has authored more than 200 peer-reviewed papers and eight books.

William Honer, professor and Head of the Department of Psychiatry and Director of the Institute of Mental Health, is the Jack Bell Chair in Schizophrenia. He is the Scienti?c Director of the B.C. Mental Health and Addictions Research Institute.

Andrei Krassioukov, professor in the Division of Rehabilitation Medicine, is an internationally recognized expert in autonomic dysreflexia following spinal cord injury. He is a physician in the Spinal Cord Program at Vancouver Coastal Health’s G.F. Strong Rehabilitation Centre and an associate director of ICORD.

Christian Naus, professor in the Department of Cellular and Physiological Sciences and Director of the Life Sciences Institute, is a leading expert on the role that intercellular channels play in the developing brain and in disease processes. Naus is the Canada Research Chair in Gap Junctions and Disease.

Weihong Song, professor in the Department of Psychiatry, focuses his research on the molecular and cellular mechanism of Alzheimer’s disease. Song is the Director of UBC Townsend Family Laboratories, the Jack Brown and Family professor and the Canada Research Chair in Alzheimer’s disease.

Eric Yoshida, professor and Head of the Division of Gastroenterology at UBC and Vancouver General Hospital, is the Head of the B.C. Hepatitis Program.

For more information, visit http://med.ubc.ca/faculty-members-elected-to-canadian-academy-of-health-sciences/.