Postdoctoral travel award winners announced

Three UBC postdoctoral students have received quarterly travel awards administered by the Postdoctoral Fellows Office (PDFO) at the Faculty of Graduate Studies. This is the first time the PDFO has assigned these awards intended to assist UBC postdocs with travel to conferences to present research performed during their time at UBC.

The winners of this quarter’s awards are Anna Prudova, Faculty of Dentistry and Centre for Blood Research, Joanna Workman, Faculty of Arts and Dept. of Psychology, and Rishi Somvanshi, Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences. 

The PDF travel awards have been made possible with funding from the VP Research and International Office, the PDFO and contributions from faculties. Awards are a maximum of $1,000 for international travel and $500 for travel within Canada.

The awards are administered quarterly for all Faculties with the exception of the Faculty of Science and the Faculty of Medicine, which will administer their own PDF Travel Awards and accept applications directly.  The next deadline for applications is Dec. 31, 2011, with details on application and eligibility found in the Postdoctoral section of the Faculty of Graduate Studies website.