UBC mathematicians receive national honours

UBC mathematicians have been recognized at the national level with four research awards.

Prof. Rachel Kuske, head of the Dept. of Mathematics, was awarded the 2011 Krieger-Nelson Prize for Research Excellence by the Canadian Mathematical Society (CMS). The citation notes Kuske’s important contributions to the study of ordinary, stochastic and partial differential equations for a wide range of applications including neuroscience, mathematical biology, buckling under compression, mathematical finance, and hydraulic-fracture mechanics.  This marks the fourth time in the last decade that a member of the department has received the prize, which recognizes outstanding female researchers.

The CMS 2011 Jeffery-William Prize for Research Excellence was awarded to Prof. Kai Behrend, one of the world’s leading experts in the theory of algebraic stacks and the geometry of moduli spaces of stable maps.  This marks the fifth time in the last decade that a UBC mathematician has won this award.

Assoc. Prof. Daniel Coombs has received the 2010 Early Career Award in Applied Mathematics, adjudicated by the Canadian Applied and Industrial Mathematics Society and the Pacific Institute for the Mathematical Sciences. The award recognizes exceptional research in any branch of applied mathematics where the recipient is less than ten years past the date of PhD at the time of nomination.

Prof. Nassif Ghoussoub has been awarded the 2010 CMS Borwein Career Award. This award recognizes individuals who have made exceptional, broad, and continued contributions to Canadian mathematics. CMS cites Ghoussoub’s role in revolutionizing Canadian mathematics and elevating its world status. He also serves as scientific director of the Banff International Research Station.

For more information, visit http://www.science.ubc.ca/news/366