UBC Home Page -
UBC Home Page -
UBC Home Page UBC Home Page -
News Events Directories Search UBC myUBC Login
- -
UBC Public Affairs
UBC Reports
UBC Reports Extras
Goal / Circulation / Deadlines
Letters to the Editor & Opinion Pieces / Feedback
UBC Reports Archives
Media Releases
Services for Media
Services for the Community
Services for UBC Faculty & Staff
Find UBC Experts
Search Site

UBC Reports | Vol. 51 | No. 6 | Jun. 2, 2005


2005 Killam Teachers

It’s like an engaging sightseeing tour where the guide makes sure no “tourist” gets left behind. That’s what students have said about lectures by Pharmaceutical Sciences Asst. Prof. Brian Cairns, one of 20 faculty members who recently received
2005 Killam Teaching Prizes.

Students commend Prof. Peter Boothroyd, of the School of Community and Regional Planning, for his commitment to social justice and his belief in the democratization of planning. Assoc. Prof. Barbara Arneil, of the department of political science, has been recognized as a teacher who works with “the whole student, heart as well as head.”

Killam winners are selected by their faculties based on recommendations from students and colleagues. Each receives $5,000 from university endowment sources. Recipients are distinguished by their creativity, commitment and dynamic approach to learning.

Other recipients are: (in alphabetical order)

  • Prof. Raymond Andersen, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • Assoc. Prof. Patricia Badir, English
  • Senior Instructor Richard Barton, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
  • Prof. Chris Clark, Oral Health Sciences
  • Instructor Paul Carter, Computer Science
  • Prof. John Grace, Chemical and Biological Engineering
  • Prof. Robert Guy, Forest Sciences
  • Assoc. Prof. Janet Jamieson, Educational and Counselling Psychology & Special Education
  • Lecturer Jeff Kroeker, Sauder School of Business
  • Lecturer Mark MacLean, Science One program
  • Prof. Janis McKenna, Physics and Astronomy
  • Asst. Prof. Alain-Michel Rocheleau, French, Hispanic and Italian Studies
  • Assoc. Prof. Becki Ross, Anthropology & Sociology and Women’s Studies
  • Sessional Lecturer Henri-Paul Sicsic, School of Music
  • Senior Instructor Stephen Taylor, School of Architecture
  • Dr. Eric Webber, Surgery
  • Dr. Joanne Weinberg, Cellular and Physiological Sciences

UBC Film Students Nominated for Leos

Six recent UBC graduates have been nominated for the 2005 Leo Awards, which honours the best and brightest talents in film and television in British Columbia.

Creative writing graduate Tara Gereaux has been nominated for Best Screenwriting in the Youth or Children’s Series category for an episode of the CBC television series Edgemont which she co-wrote with the series’ producer Ian Weir.

Jesse McKeown, also from the creative writing program, has been nominated for Best Screenwriting in a Dramatic Series for the yet-to-be aired CTV series Robson Arms: The Tell Tale Latex.

Abigal Kinch, graduate of the creative writing master’s program, is nominated for Best Screenwriting in a Short Film for White Out.

Film Production graduate Dylan Akio Smith’s film Man Feel Pain has been nominated for Best Director, Best Cinematography, Best Short Film, Best Screenwriting and Best Actor in the short film category.

Fellow film production graduate James Wallace receives a nod for his short film in both the Best Actor and Best Editing categories.

Film diploma graduate Alex Levine’s short film My Old Man has been nominated in the Best Cinematography, Best Costume Design, Best Production Design and Best Musical Score in the short film category.

For more information and winners, visit http://www.leoawards.com/.

- - -  

Last reviewed 22-Sep-2006

to top | UBC.ca » UBC Public Affairs

UBC Public Affairs
310 - 6251 Cecil Green Park Road, Vancouver, BC Canada V6T 1Z1
tel 604.822.3131 | fax 604.822.2684 | e-mail public.affairs@ubc.ca

© Copyright The University of British Columbia, all rights reserved.