UBC Home Page -
UBC Home Page -
UBC Home Page UBC Home Page -
News Events Directories Search UBC myUBC Login
- -
UBC Public Affairs
UBC Reports
UBC Reports Extras
Goal / Circulation / Deadlines
Letters to the Editor & Opinion Pieces / Feedback
UBC Reports Archives
Media Releases
Services for Media
Services for the Community
Services for UBC Faculty & Staff
Find UBC Experts
Search Site

UBC Reports | Vol. 49 | No. 4 | Apr. 3, 2003

Meet UBC’s Top Scholars

By Hilary Thomson

Twenty students have been named Wesbrook Scholars for outstanding achievement among undergraduates.

Among them are a Rhodes scholar, three triathletes, pianists, dancers, national level sports competitors in water polo and synchronized swimming, and volunteers who support fellow students through mentorship and peer counselling and serve the community by working with special needs children, disabled adults and at Vancouver’s Downtown Eastside daycare centers and health clinics. Already active in global citizenship, they participate in initiatives such as Amnesty International and the Youth Millennium Project that engages youth around the world to develop community projects.

The students, whose hometowns range from Comox, B.C. to Port Dickson, Malaysia, have participated in academic adventures in Guyana, South America, Vanuatu in the South Pacific, the United Kingdom, Japan and Costa Rica. They are preparing for careers that include neurosurgery, law, environmental consulting, biochemistry research and specialized dentistry.

Wesbrook scholars must rank in the top 10 per cent of their class and possess the ability to serve, work with and lead other people. An honorary designation, Wesbrook Scholars are nominated by their faculty or school and selected by a committee. The awards are sponsored by the Wesbrook Society, an organization of the university’s major benefactors.

This year’s Wesbrook scholars are:

  • Arts: Carly Linda Buchanan; Sara Liane Irvine; Isabel Anne Moore; Yaa-Hemaa Obiri-Yeboah;
  • Dentistry: Lucien Jules Bellamy;
  • Education: Anne Michelle Harris;
  • Law: Amy Jennifer Davison; Michael Andre Feder; Chelsea Dawn Wilson; Laura Catherine Zumpano;
  • Medicine: Keri Lyn Closson; Adrienne Christine Weeks;
  • Science: Rebecca Jane Best; Marvin Min-Yen Hsiao; Anindita Tjahjadi.

The following scholarship recipients are also designated as Wesbrook Scholars:

  • Ambrose Hon Wai Wong: Harry Logan Memorial Scholarship and Harold B. & Nellie Boyes Memorial Scholarship;
  • Siu Kae Yeong: Sherwood Lett Memorial Scholarship;
  • Alicia Joan Miller: C.K. Choi Scholarship;
  • Melanie Vanessa Bejzyk: Amy E. Sauder Scholarship and Jean Craig Smith Scholarship;
  • Rachel Anne Wiebe: John H. Mitchell Memorial Scholarship.
- - -  

Last reviewed 22-Sep-2006

to top | UBC.ca » UBC Public Affairs

UBC Public Affairs
310 - 6251 Cecil Green Park Road, Vancouver, BC Canada V6T 1Z1
tel 604.822.3131 | fax 604.822.2684 | e-mail public.affairs@ubc.ca

© Copyright The University of British Columbia, all rights reserved.