UBC Home Page -
UBC Home Page -
UBC Home Page UBC Home Page -
News Events Directories Search UBC myUBC Login
- -
UBC Public Affairs
UBC Reports
UBC Reports Extras
Goal / Circulation / Deadlines
Letters to the Editor & Opinion Pieces / Feedback
UBC Reports Archives
Media Releases
Services for Media
Services for the Community
Services for UBC Faculty & Staff
Find UBC Experts
Search Site

UBC Reports | Vol. 49 | No. 4 | Apr. 3, 2003

Artist and Politician Among Honorary Degree Recipients

A B.C. hereditary chief, a former B.C. deputy premier and an internationally acclaimed contemporary artist are among the 11 individuals who will receive honorary degrees from UBC this year.

Recipients are recognized for their distinguished career achievements and for their contributions to UBC and to Canada. Honorary degrees will be awarded during Spring Congregation May 21-28 and at Fall Congregation Nov. 27-29.

Robert Joseph, hereditary chief of the Kwagiulth nation of the northeast coast of Vancouver Island, has been involved in First Nations activities at the local, provincial and national levels. Working as a museum director and curator, he has promoted the collection and preservation of First Nations artifacts. He has also provided leadership, counselling and support for former students of Indian residential schools and helped to improve relationships between aboriginal and non-aboriginal communities and governments.

UBC alumnus Jeff Wall is recognized as a major force in contemporary international art and visual culture. His photography has explored a wide range of social and political themes such as urban violence, racism and poverty. A member of UBC’s Dept. of Fine Arts until 1999, Wall helped to develop the department’s internationally recognized Master of Fine Arts program.

Grace McCarthy was first elected as a B.C. MLA in 1966. She served in a variety of positions including Provincial Secretary, Minster of Human Resources, Minister of Economic Development as well as Deputy Premier. She was Leader of the Social Credit party from 1992-94.

Involved in community and philanthropic organizations, McCarthy is president of the B.C. C.H.I.L.D. Foundation that seeks a cure for children with intestinal and liver diseases. The organization raised $3 million to establish the first research chair in pediatric gastroenterology in Canada at UBC.

Other honorary degree recipients include: distinguished microbiology researcher Julian Davies; alumnus and B.C. Chief Justice Lance Finch; leading international political scientist Jean Laponce; alumnus, chair and CEO of Alberta’s Syncrude Canada Ltd. Eric Newell; former UBC vice-president and distinguished plant scientist Michael Shaw; Rafael Rangel Sostmann, president of Sistem Tec de Monterrey, Mexico’s 25-campus technical institute; acclaimed dental educator and practitioner Richard Tucker of Washington; and neuroscientist and epilepsy expert Dr. Juhn Wada.

All degrees will be awarded at Spring Congregation with the exception of Wall and Davies who will receive their honorary degrees at Fall Congregation.

- - -  

Last reviewed 22-Sep-2006

to top | UBC.ca » UBC Public Affairs

UBC Public Affairs
310 - 6251 Cecil Green Park Road, Vancouver, BC Canada V6T 1Z1
tel 604.822.3131 | fax 604.822.2684 | e-mail public.affairs@ubc.ca

© Copyright The University of British Columbia, all rights reserved.