UBC Home Page -
UBC Home Page -
UBC Home Page UBC Home Page -
News Events Directories Search UBC myUBC Login
- -
UBC Public Affairs
UBC Reports
UBC Reports Extras
Goal / Circulation / Deadlines
Letters to the Editor & Opinion Pieces / Feedback
UBC Reports Archives
Media Releases
Services for Media
Services for the Community
Services for UBC Faculty & Staff
Find UBC Experts
Search Site

UBC Reports | Vol. 48 | No. 8 | June 6, 2002

Top Teachers for 2002

Students and colleagues choose Killam Teaching Prize winners

A champion of undergraduate research is among 23 faculty members who received Killam Teaching Prizes at Spring Congregation this year.

Assoc. Prof. Kishor M. Wasan was honoured for his work as director of the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences' Summer Student Research Program. Established in 1989, it introduces undergraduates to the diversity of pharmacy research and the variety of careers open to them through placements with faculty members or local companies.

Since joining the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences seven years ago, he has worked tirelessly to develop funding and foster opportunities for as many undergraduates as possible to learn about the link between teaching and research.

Last summer, 43 undergraduates participated, and many went on to publish the results of their work. The program has become so popular that it attracts applications from students outside the faculty eager for interdisciplinary experience.

Last year, Wasan obtained industry support to develop and direct a national program for summer research in Pharmaceutical Sciences faculties at universities across Canada.

Wasan's own research interests are centred on the development of drug delivery systems with a special focus on the role that lipids can play in these processes.

Killam Teaching Prize winners are selected by their faculties based on recommendations from students and colleagues. Each winner receives $5,000 from university endowment sources.

Recipients are distinguished by their creativity, commitment and dynamic approach to learning.

Other Killam Teaching Prize recipients for 2002 are:

Faculty of Agricultural Sciences: Don Luymes, Landscape Architecture Program. Faculty of Applied Science: Marion Clauson, School of Nursing; Helmut Prion, Civil Engineering. Faculty of Arts: Pamela Dalziel, English; Enrique Manchon, French, Hispanic and Italian Studies; Ian McKendry, Geography; Geoffrey Winthrop-Young, Germanic Studies; Stephen Straker, History. Faculty of Commerce and Business Adminstration: Mark Thompson. Faculty of Dentistry: Bonnie Craig, Oral, Biological and Medical Sciences. Faculty of Education: Anthony Clarke, Curriculum Studies; Allison Tom, Educational Studies. Faculty of Forestry: Bart van der Kamp, Forest Sciences. Faculty of Graduate Studies: Rhodri Windsor-Liscombe, Individual Interdisciplinary Program; Laurie Ricou, English. Faculty of Law: Claire Young. Faculty of Medicine: Catherine Backman, School of Rehabilitation Sciences; Andrew Chalmers, Medicine, Judith Johnston, School of Audiology and Speech Sciences. Faculty of Science: Mary Berbee, Botany; Hugh Brock, Zoology; Lee Groat, Earth and Ocean Sciences.


Last reviewed 22-Sep-2006

to top | UBC.ca » UBC Public Affairs

UBC Public Affairs
310 - 6251 Cecil Green Park Road, Vancouver, BC Canada V6T 1Z1
tel 604.822.3131 | fax 604.822.2684 | e-mail public.affairs@ubc.ca

© Copyright The University of British Columbia, all rights reserved.