UBC Home Page -
UBC Home Page -
UBC Home Page UBC Home Page -
News Events Directories Search UBC myUBC Login
- -
UBC Public Affairs
UBC Reports
UBC Reports Extras
Goal / Circulation / Deadlines
Letters to the Editor & Opinion Pieces / Feedback
UBC Reports Archives
Media Releases
Services for Media
Services for the Community
Services for UBC Faculty & Staff
Find UBC Experts
Search Site

UBC Reports | Vol. 48 | No. 1 | Jan. 10, 2002

Honour Roll

Two teams of students from the UBC Debating Society finished in the top half of the field at the 2001 World Universities Debating Championships held Dec. 27 - Jan. 3 at the University of Toronto.

Competing among 228 teams from 108 universities around the world, UBC Team A, consisting of fourth-year Political Science majors Megan Volk and Greg Allen, finished in 80th place. UBC Team B, consisting of second-year Economics major Mike Kotrly and second-year Political Science major Spencer Keys was 123rd.

In the individual category, Allen was 145th of 456 competitors while Kotrly was 149th.

The event was won by Oxford University.

Nursing Prof. Joan Anderson has been awarded the inaugural Elizabeth Kenny McCann Professorship in Nursing for her achievements in teaching and research.

An alumna and faculty member since 1981, Anderson's areas of research interest include: the management of chronic illness, particularly among women; culture and health; health and public policy; and critical and interpretive research methodologies.

She has also developed programs with community groups to make health care more accessible to different populations. Her teaching has focused on critical research methods and the use of these approaches in nursing research.

McCann was a UBC alumna who served as a faculty member and acting director of the School of Nursing.


Last reviewed 22-Sep-2006

to top | UBC.ca » UBC Public Affairs

UBC Public Affairs
310 - 6251 Cecil Green Park Road, Vancouver, BC Canada V6T 1Z1
tel 604.822.3131 | fax 604.822.2684 | e-mail public.affairs@ubc.ca

© Copyright The University of British Columbia, all rights reserved.