UBC Home Page -
UBC Home Page -
UBC Home Page UBC Home Page -
News Events Directories Search UBC myUBC Login
- -
UBC Public Affairs
UBC Reports
UBC Reports Extras
Goal / Circulation / Deadlines
Letters to the Editor & Opinion Pieces / Feedback
UBC Reports Archives
Media Releases
Services for Media
Services for the Community
Services for UBC Faculty & Staff
Find UBC Experts
Search Site

UBC Reports | Vol. 47 | No. 13 | September 6, 2001

Honour Roll

Science Dean Maria Klawe was recently named Educator of the Year at the annual Canadian New Media Awards Ceremony and Gala in Toronto.

Recognized for her accomplishments as a leading researcher in educational software, Klawe was one of 60 finalists nominated in 12 categories. She is the holder of the NSERC-IBM Chair for Women in Science and Engineering for B.C. and the Yukon.

The awards recognize the accomplishments of individuals and companies in the Canadian new media sector.

William Koty, director of UBC Continuing Studies' Applied Technology Division, has been appointed to the Premier's Technology Council.

As one of 14 members of the new council, Koty will advise the provincial government on how to make British Columbia a global magnet for high-tech investment, growth and job creation. He and fellow council members will also devise strategies for placing B.C. at the forefront of the world's technology-based economies.

UBC alumni on the council include: Greg Aasen, founder and CEO of PMC-Sierra; Michael Calyniuk, senior audit partner of PricewaterhouseCoopers; Norm Francis, chair of Pivotal Corporation; Greg Kerfoot, president and CEO of Crystal Decisions; and Paul Lee, senior vice-president of Electronic Arts Inc.

Also on the council are Dr. Victor Ling, vice-president of cancer research at the B.C. Cancer Agency and vice-dean of cancer research at UBC, and Firoz Rasul, CEO of Ballard Power Systems, who serves on the UBC Board of Governors.

UBC President Martha Piper was recently appointed to the provincial government's B.C. Progress Board.

The independent 16-member panel will advise the premier on ways to fuel economic growth by setting performance benchmarks for the provincial economy, and identify issues of importance to the province's future economic prosperity.

UBC alumni on the Progress Board include: Pat Corbett, president of Hills Health Ranch; Herman Driediger, CEO of Eze Rent-it Centre Ltd.; Norman Keevil, chairman and CEO of Teck Corp.; Derek Lee, president of Prospero International Realty Inc.; Stephanie Sharp, managing director of corporate finance at Arthur Anderson LLP.; Ken Shields, president and CEO of Raymond James Ltd.; and Gerri Sinclair, founder and former president and CEO of Ncompass Labs.


Last reviewed 22-Sep-2006

to top | UBC.ca » UBC Public Affairs

UBC Public Affairs
310 - 6251 Cecil Green Park Road, Vancouver, BC Canada V6T 1Z1
tel 604.822.3131 | fax 604.822.2684 | e-mail public.affairs@ubc.ca

© Copyright The University of British Columbia, all rights reserved.