UBC Home Page -
UBC Home Page -
UBC Home Page UBC Home Page -
News Events Directories Search UBC myUBC Login
- -
UBC Public Affairs
UBC Reports
UBC Reports Extras
Goal / Circulation / Deadlines
Letters to the Editor & Opinion Pieces / Feedback
UBC Reports Archives
Media Releases
Services for Media
Services for the Community
Services for UBC Faculty & Staff
Find UBC Experts
Search Site

UBC Reports | Vol. 47 | No. 13 | September 6, 2001

All on Board for UBC

Members' diverse backgrounds help guide university

UBC's 15-member Board of Governors comprises the chancellor, the president, eight persons appointed by the lieutenant-governor, two faculty members elected by faculty, two full-time students elected by students and one person elected by and from the full-time employees of the university who are not faculty members.

By legislation, the board is responsible for the management, administration and control of the property, revenue, business and affairs of the university including the appointment of senior officials and faculty on the recommendation of the president.

The governors represent diverse backgrounds which provide valuable input during board deliberations. Although members bring to the board the views of various constituencies, there are no advocates for any one group.

Decisions are made in the best overall interests of the university and in support of UBC's mission to be the best university in Canada and one of the world's finest public universities.

Maryann Adamec is a fourth-year student in the Faculty of Commerce and Business Administration. She has served as president of the Alma Mater Society and been involved in initiatives such as Parent Orientation and UBC's Annual General Meeting.

Larry Bell, board chair, was appointed to the board in 1997. He is chair of B.C. Hydro and vice-chair of Shato Holdings Ltd., a food services company, and chair of its subsidiary White Spot Ltd. A graduate of UBC, Bell served the province as secretary to the B.C. Treasury Board, and deputy minister of the ministries of Housing and Transit, Lands, Parks and Housing, and Finance.

Linda Crompton is a UBC alumna and former president and chief executive officer of Citizens Bank. Known in the business community for her strong commitment to social issues, Crompton is an advocate for corporate responsibility and ethical business practice.

Joanne Emerman, a professor of Anatomy and associate dean, Research, in the Faculty of Medicine, joined UBC in 1980. Emerman has served as chair of the Faculty of Medicine Curriculum Evaluation Committee and was a member of UBC's Faculty Association executive for six years.

Stephen Howard, director of communications and research for the Hospital Employees' Union (HEU) is a graduate of Simon Fraser University. He is also active in a number of community organizations, including CoDevelopment Canada, a Vancouver-based international development agency.

Gregory Lawrence, a professor of Civil Engineering since 1987, was elected to the board by faculty this year. Also an associate member of the Dept. of Earth and Ocean Sciences, Lawrence is a member of the Institute of Applied Mathematics.

Elsie McMurphy served the BCTF for 15 years in a variety of capacities, including vice-president, president and executive director, a position she held for 10 years. A teacher with almost 20 years' experience in B.C. public schools, she pursued teacher training at UBC and obtained undergraduate and graduate Education degrees from the University of Victoria.

Tieg Martin, a fourth-year Arts student, aims to improve communication with students and help them better understand how the university works. An international traveler, Martin has visited Australia, North Africa, the Balkans, Central America and other countries.

Guninder C. Mumick manages the Multicultural Health Education/Promotion program of the Vancouver/Richmond Health Board and has extensive experience in adult education. Her expertise lies in working with diverse populations, especially in the health system, and international and intercultural communication.

Martha Piper, president and vice-chancellor of UBC, is a member of the Canada Foundation for Innovation and the Canada Millennium Scholarship Foundation. Piper is on the board of the Prime Minister's Advisory Council on Science and Technology and the board of the Association of Universities and Colleges of Canada.

Ben Pong was elected by staff to the board in 1999. A computer specialist at the UBC Bookstore, Pong is treasurer of CUPE Local 116.

Firoz Rasul is chair and CEO of Ballard Power Systems, Inc., a leader in the development and manufacture of fuel cells. His community service includes presidency of the Aga Khan Ismaili Council for Canada.

William Sauder, chancellor of the university, is a UBC graduate and chair of International Forest Products and Sauder Industries Limited. He was a member of UBC's Board of Governors from 1981 to 1987, and served as chair of the board for the last two years of his term.

Linda Thorstad was educated at UBC and specializes in strategic planning, communications and business development. Committed to sustainable development issues, Thorstad is executive director for the Vancouver Economic Development Commission and has served as an associate of the B.C. Commission on Resources and the Environment and the Fraser Basin Management Board.

Joe Wai, a UBC alumnus and architect, designed the Dr. Sun Yat-Sen Classical Chinese Garden in Vancouver. Wai's practice reflects his interests in social and seniors' housing as well as community and cultural projects.


Last reviewed 22-Sep-2006

to top | UBC.ca » UBC Public Affairs

UBC Public Affairs
310 - 6251 Cecil Green Park Road, Vancouver, BC Canada V6T 1Z1
tel 604.822.3131 | fax 604.822.2684 | e-mail public.affairs@ubc.ca

© Copyright The University of British Columbia, all rights reserved.