Sharon Kahn has been re-appointed as associate vice-president, Equity, for a second five-year term.

A professor in the Dept. of Educational and Counselling Psychology, and Special Education, Kahn established the Equity Office in 1994. She joined the Faculty of Education in 1975.

UBC's Equity Office co-ordinates the university's employment and education equity program and UBC's policies on discrimination and harassment.

The office has won two certificates of merit and a Vision Award from the Government of Canada for achievements in employment equity.

Chemistry Prof. Brian James is the winner of the 2000 Chemical Institute of Canada Medal awarded for outstanding contributions to the science of chemistry or chemical engineering.

James' research focuses on the use of cheap and abundant common gases such as hydrogen, hydrogen sulfide, oxygen and carbon monoxide.

UBC Travel Program manager Connie Fabro has won the Ken Clements Award this year for outstanding contributions by a university administrator.

Given annually by the Canadian Association of University Business Officers the award recognizes Fabro for her eight years of voluntary work in developing the National Preferred Hotel Listing for the faculty and staff of universities across Canada.

Jim Kronstad of the Biotechnology Laboratory and Asst. Prof. Natalie Strynadka of the Dept. of Biochemistry have received 1999 Burroughs Wellcome Fund awards.

Kronstad's award provides $425,000 (US) over five years for research in the analysis of the fungal micro-organism that causes meningioencephalitis in patients with a compromised immune system.

Strynadka has received a New Investigator in the Pharmacological Sciences award that provides $210,000 (US) over a period of three years. She aims to design new antibiotics that overcome bacterial resistance to standard therapies.

The Burroughs Wellcome Fund is a private foundation that supports the medical sciences by funding research and other scientific and educational activities.