Graduates of UBC's Creative Writing program will return to campus on four consecutive Wednesdays beginning Feb. 26 for The Masters Series, free public lectures featuring established alumni writing in various genres sharing their experiences.

Magazine editors Sue Dritmanis and Derk Wynand launched the series which also includes children's writers Barbara Nickel and Shirley Stirling on March 5, followed by poets Zoe Landale and Jane Munro on March 12 and novelists Dennis Bolen and Eden Robinson on March 19.

All lectures in The Masters Series are moderated by faculty members of the Creative Writing program and take place from 12:30 to 1:30 p.m. in room E474 of the Buchanan Building, 1866 East Mall. For more information, call the Creative Writing progam office at 822-2712.

To celebrate the opening of the new Walter C. Koerner Library, and in recognition of the library's role in the life of the university, UBC will host a symposium on Tuesday, March 11 from noon to 1:20 p.m. in Main Library's Ridington Room.

Presenters are UBC President David Strangway, John Gilbert, chair of the Senate Library Committee and Dean of Arts Shirley Neuman. The English Department Players will follow with selected readings. Light refreshment will be available. For more information, call symposium co-chair Margaret Friesen at 822-4430, fax at 822-3335 or send e-mail to

The President's Office invites all faculty, staff, and students to submit proposals for disability-related projects to be funded through proceeds from the Coca-Cola cold beverage agreement.

Proposals should include an overview of the project(s), an indication of cost, a description of how it would create a more accessible environment for persons with disabilities and how it would benefit the campus as a whole.

Send proposals to the UBC Business Relations Office, Room 201, Old Administration Building, Zone 2 before April 11, 1997.

For more information, please e-mail Debora Sweeney, UBC Business Relations at

The first projects to be funded through Coca-Cola proceeds will be announced May 22. Further calls for funding proposals will be issued biannually.