Three faculty named to rank of dean

Three UBC faculty members have been chosen to head their faculties for six-year terms beginning July 1.

Prof. Moura Quayle has been appointed dean of Agricultural Sciences. Prof. Michael Isaacson has been named dean of Applied Science, and Prof. Joost Blom becomes dean of Law.

"These outstanding individuals take on the dean's role at an exciting time for the university. I am confident their demonstrated abilities as leaders and scholars will serve each of them well during their tenure as dean," said Dan Birch, vice-president, Academic and Provost.

Prof. Quayle, who is currently director of UBC's Landscape Architecture Program, chaired the City of Vancouver's Urban Landscape Task Force and continues to advocate its vision of Vancouver in 2010 including the Vancouver Greenways Plan. While working under a joint appointment with the School of Architecture, she established a community design workshop to give students experience in local neighbourhoods and communities. Quayle has received numerous research, professional and service awards, as well as awards for excellence in teaching. She replaces Dean Jim Richards, who steps down after serving as dean for 12 years.

Prof. Michael Isaacson has served as head of the Dept. of Civil Engineering since 1992. His research in coastal and offshore hydrodynamics, with particular emphasis on ocean waves and their effects on coastal and offshore structures, has led to numerous awards, including UBC's Killam Research Prize and the R.A. McLaughlin Award, the primary award of the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of B.C. He has supervised more than 30 master's and doctoral students and published more than 200 research papers. Isaacson was a member of the university Senate for six years and has served as chair of the Senate Budget Committee. He replaces Dean Axel Meisen who steps down after serving as dean for 12 years.

Prof. Joost Blom has served as both associate dean and acting dean in the Faculty of Law. His areas of expertise include private international law, tort law, contract law and intellectual property. Blom has been extensively involved in both the university and legal communities. He has served as president of the UBC Faculty Association and on numerous university committees, including the Cecil and Ida Green Visiting Professorships Committee which he has chaired since 1994. He has also served as president of the Vancouver Institute and remains an executive member. An alumnus of UBC, and Harvard and Oxford universities, Blom received the designation of Queen's Counsel (B.C.) in 1985. Blom replaces Dean Lynn Smith who steps down after serving as dean for six years.