Nursing faculty receive nat'l teaching, research honours

The School of Nursing will honour five of its faculty members for the national awards they received in 1996 at a campus reception Feb. 7.

Assoc. Prof. Joan Bottorff received the National Health Research Scholar Award from Health Canada/National Health Research Development Project. The award is intended to allow investigators with proven research ability to pursue health research on a full-time basis for a period of up to five years. Bottorff's research has focused on health communication. During the next five years she will investigate strategies to strengthen communication as an intervention to support and enhance health, with a focus on women's health issues -- stopping smoking and breast cancer.

Assoc. Prof. Elaine Carty received the Canadian Nursing Research Group's Award for Promotion of Research-Based Practice. Her research in the areas of post-partum care for new families and on childbearing and parenting issues for women with disabilities and chronic illnesses were the basis for this award.

Assoc. Prof. Ann Hilton received the Canadian Nursing Research Group's Nurse Researcher Award. Cited for her contributions to nursing research and education, Hilton has focused on individuals and families coping with life-threatening and chronic illness. She is credited with actively promoting students' appreciation of research and their ability to assess its potential. She is associate editor for the Canadian Oncology Nursing Journal.

Asst. Prof. Joy Johnson was awarded the Canadian Nursing Research Group's Outstanding New Investigator Award. This award is given to a new researcher in the field of nursing who has completed his or her doctoral work within the past three years and has demonstrated outstanding scholarly achievement.

Johnson, who graduated with a PhD from the University of Alberta in 1993, has focused on developing and testing ways to support individuals in making positive health changes, such as stopping smoking, and breast self examination.

Assoc. Prof. Clarissa Green received a 3-M Fellowship from 3-M Canada and The Society for Reaching and Learning in Higher Education. The 3-M Fellowship is awarded annually to 10 university teachers who demonstrate outstanding performance in their teaching and in fostering excellence in teaching and in faculty members on their campus and elsewhere.

Prior to the reception Annette O'Connor, a prominent nursing researcher and associate professor at the University of Ottawa, will give a talk entitled Yes, No, Maybe So -- New Approaches to Assessing Clients' Decisional Conflict and Providing Decision Support. During the past decade, O'Connor has developed a research program to understand and support the decision making of those facing choices related to screening for breast cancer and genetic disorders, preventive hormone therapy after menopause, and treatments for cardiac and respiratory diseases, and cancer.

O'Connor's presentation takes place 2:30 to 4 p.m. in the Vancouver Hospital and Health Sciences Centre, Koerner Pavilion G-279, 2211 Wesbrook Mall.