Three named to Board of Governors

Three new members have been appointed by the province to the university's Board of Governors.

They are business leader Larry Bell, health educator Guninder Mumick and natural resource strategist Linda Thorstad.

Larry Bell is president and chief executive officer of Shato Holdings Ltd., a food services company, and chair of its subsidiary White Spot Ltd.

In 1991 his management innovations were recognized with the 1991 Award of Excellence from the Institute of Public Administrators.

A lifetime B.C. resident, Bell graduated from UBC with a Bachelor of Arts and served the province as deputy minister, Housing and Transit, Lands, Parks and Housing, and Finance and as secretary to the B.C. Treasury Board.

He is a director of the Vancouver Hospital Foundation.

Guninder Mumick has worked in the field of international and intercultural communications, especially regarding health issues, for over 20 years.

Currently manager of the Multicultural Health Education /Promotion Program of the Vancouver/Richmond Health Board, she has extensive experience in adult education and administration, having served on the boards of Vancouver Community College, Langara College and the Langara College Foundation.

She has also served on the board of many community organizations, including the YWCA, MOSAIC and Greater Vancouver Mental Health Services.

Linda Thorstad's expertise and contributions to business earned her the 1996 YWCA Woman of Distinction Award for Management and the Professions.

A graduate of UBC, she is vice-president of corporate relations for Viceroy Resource Corporation, a gold producer with projects in North and South America and Indonesia.

Thorstad specializes in business planning and communications and has broad experience in resource and science industries. In 1995/96 she was president of the Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of B.C.

Committed to resource management issues, Thorstad served on the board of the B.C. Commission on Resources and the Environment (CORE) , and the Fraser Basin Management Board, and is currently on the board of B.C. Heritage Rivers.