UBC experts offer advice for the holidays

holidays770

UBC experts offer holiday advice. Photo: Joe Buckingham, Flickr

Researchers at the University of British Columbia are available to shed light on gift-giving, stress management and other holiday topics.

FOOD AND HEALTH

Kara Vogt
Faculty of Land & Food Systems
Tel. 604.822.2502
Email: kara.vogt@ubc.ca
Available: Through Dec. 19, except Dec. 12

GIFT GIVING

Andrew Scott Baron
Dept. of Psychology
Tel: 604.822.6311
Email: abaron@psych.ubc.ca
Available: Through Dec. 19

Charles Ungerleider
Dept. of Educational Studies
Email: charles.ungerleider@ubc.ca
Available: Through Dec. 19

  • Gifts to stimulate children’s creativity

MARKETING AND CONSUMER BEHAVIOUR

Darren Dahl
Sauder School of Business
Tel: 604.822.8346
Email: darren.dahl@sauder.ubc.ca
Available: Through Dec. 19

JoAndrea (Joey) Hoegg
Sauder School of Business
Tel: 604.827.4541
Email: joey.hoegg@sauder.ubc.ca
Available: Through Dec. 19

Charles Weinberg
Sauder School of Business
Tel. 604.822.8327
Email: chuck.weinberg@sauder.ubc.ca
Available: Through Dec. 16

  • Nonprofits and charities – effective holiday marketing

SOCIAL MEDIA

Alfred Hermida
School of Journalism
Tel. 604.827.3540
Email: alfred.hermida@ubc.ca
Available: Through Dec. 19

STRESS AND HAPPINESS

Richard Carpiano
Dept. of Sociology
Email: richard.carpiano@ubc.ca
Available: Through Dec. 19

  • Social networks’ impact on health
  • Cultural traditions and health habits

Maxine Crawford
Dept. of Psychology – PhD student
Tel: 778.475.1801
Email: maxcrawford@shaw.ca
Available: Through Dec. 19

Mark Holder
Dept. of Psychology
Tel: 250.807.8728
Email: mark.holder@ubc.ca
Available: Dec. 15-19

CHRISTIANITY AND CHRISTMAS

John Stackhouse Jr.
Regent College at UBC
Email: jgs@regent-college.edu
Available: Through Dec. 20

  • Meaning of Christmas; Advent
  • Birth narratives in the Gospels
  • What does Santa Claus have to do with Jesus?