2011 Vanier Scholarships awarded to 25 UBC graduate students

The Prime Minister’s office announced 167 Vanier Scholarships to be awarded to graduate students in Canada. Of this year’s honourees, 25 are from UBC.  Each scholar will receive $50,000 per year for three years to pursue and complete doctoral studies in social sciences and humanities, natural sciences and engineering, and health.

Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR)

  • Rodrigo Goya—Bioinformatics
  • Andree Gacoin—Educational Studies
  • Celeste Bickford—Health Care & Epidemiology
  • Devon Greyson—Interdisciplinary Studies
  • Laura Lee—Interdisciplinary Studies
  • Michael Copley—MD,PhD
  • Long Nguyen—MD,PHD
  • Clara Westwell-Roper—MD,PhD
  • Larissa Pikor—Oncology
  • Yuanyuan Jiang—Psychology
  • Krista Best—Occupational Sciences and Occupational Therapy

Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC)

  • Ashley Sanders—Cell & Developmental Biology
  • Toufiqul Islam—Electrical & Computer Engineering
  • Iain Moyles—Mathematics
  • Farzad Khademolhosseini—Mechanical Engineering 
  • Nurit Gazit Gurel—Neuroscience
  • Simon Viel—Physics
  • Christopher Kenneth Willie—Interdisciplinary Studies (UBC Okanagan)

Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC)

  • Ma Ledda Docot—Anthropology
  • Denise Green—Anthropology
  • Chelsey Hauge—Cross Faculty Inquiry in Education
  • Shayna Plaut—Educational Studies
  • Julian Yates—Geography
  • Jessica Rosinski—Political Science
  • Natalie Miller—Psychology

The Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarship (Vanier CGS) was created to attract and retain world-class doctoral students and to establish Canada as a global centre of excellence in research and higher learning. It is available to both Canadian and international PhD students studying at Canadian universities.

For more information, visit http://www.grad.ubc.ca/about-us/news/congratulations-ubcs-25-new-vanier-scholars.